BpHuman trials

BPC-157 protocol

BPC-157 is a short lab-made chain of 15 amino acids, first described from a protein found in stomach juice. Nearly all the research is in rats. In people there are only a few tiny reports and early registered trials. It is not an approved medicine.

Not approved as a medicine by the US FDABanned in sport (WADA 2026 list, class S0)No completed controlled trial in people
ProtocolMixingResultsSide effectsHow it worksSources

The protocol at a glance

No human injection dose has been published. A planned shoulder-surgery trial uses a daily injection under the skin for 90 days, but the amount is not stated. The only human trial amounts we found are oral tablets (1 mg each) and one-off clinic reports.

ItemWhat is known
Human injection doseNot established
Studied inMostly rats and mice
Oral tablets, phase 1 (NCT02637284)1 mg tablets: 1, 3 or 6 as a single dose; or 3 tablets every 8 hours for 2 weeks
Bladder-wall injection (12 women)10 mg in total, one procedure
Vein infusion (2 adults)10 mg on day 1, then 20 mg on day 2
Shoulder-surgery trial (NCT07803250)Injection under the skin once a day for 90 days; amount not stated; not yet recruiting

The tablet schedule is from ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02637284 (healthy volunteers, 42 planned, status unknown, no results posted). The bladder and vein amounts come from single-clinic reports in Florida (Lee 2024, Lee 2025). These are what researchers did, not advice on what to take.

Community reports

Community reports commonly describe 250 mcg to 1 mg a day under the skin for 4 to 8 weeks. These are user reports, not trial doses.

What people say they do, collected from community discussions. Not tested in a trial; shown so you can compare it with the evidence above.

Mixing

No mixing table here: this one is used as a capsule, nasal spray or skin product, or has no human amount to calculate from. The general mixing calculator works for any vial.

What the trials found

No completed controlled trial of BPC-157 has reported results. A 2026 systematic review, searching up to 1 June 2026, found only:

3human studies in total
30people across all three studies
0completed controlled trials with results
Very lowcertainty of the evidence (review rating)

Poolton JT et al. Acta Orthop Belg 2026 (PROSPERO CRD420261406325). The three studies were a knee-pain chart review (16 people), a bladder pilot (12 women) and a vein-infusion safety pilot (2 people). The review rated all three as poor quality.

Side effects

  • No side effects were reported in the three small human studies (30 people in all).
  • That is far too few people to show it is safe. Long-term safety in people is unknown.
  • Athletes in tested sports cannot use it. BPC-157 is named on the WADA 2026 Prohibited List.

How it works

Tendon cell survival and movement (rat cells)

In rat tendon cells, BPC-157 helped cells grow out, survive and move. This has not been shown in people.

New blood vessels and cell protection (animal studies)

Animal studies report effects on blood vessel growth and cell protection. Human proof is missing.

Sources

  • ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02637284 (PCO-02 oral BPC-157, phase 1, PharmaCotherapia)
  • ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07803250 (BPC-157 after rotator cuff repair, University of Arkansas)
  • Poolton JT et al. Acta Orthop Belg 2026 (systematic review of human BPC-157 evidence), PMID 42885452
  • Lee E, Padgett B. Altern Ther Health Med 2021 (knee pain, retrospective), PMID 34324435
  • Lee E. Altern Ther Health Med 2024 (interstitial cystitis pilot), PMID 39325560
  • Lee E. Altern Ther Health Med 2025 (intravenous safety pilot), PMID 40131143
  • Chang CH et al. J Appl Physiol 2011 (tendon cells), PMID 21030672
  • WADA Prohibited List 2026, class S0 (names BPC-157)
  • Drugs@FDA / openFDA search: no BPC-157 product